Who will be the next golden boy award footballer?

Who will be the next golden boy footballer?


The Golden Boy Award is a renowned accolade bestowed upon young European players who have demonstrated exceptional efficiency and performance over the course of a year. In addition, athletes must be under the age of 21 to be eligible for this reward. He should play for a top-tier European club.


In total, 80 players have been nominated for the 2021 Golden Boy Award, with some having astronomical transfer values. Check out the top five nominees for the Golden Boy Award in 2021.


Here’s a guide to all you need to know about the next Golden Boy award. We’ve got you covered from the list of candidates to how the winner is chosen.

It’s that time of year again when the yearly awards are given out to recognize the top players from the previous year.


The Golden Boy is one of the prizes up for grabs. However it is not as well-known as the Ballon d’Or, this trophy is an important stage in a young footballer’s career. With former champions like Lionel Messi and Wayne Rooney, it may also give a glimpse into the future.


Hence, we’ve compiled a list of everything you need to know about the Golden Boy award in 2021.


What exactly is the Golden Boy?

The Golden Boy award, established in 2003 by the Italian sports publication Tuttosport, is given to the finest young football player in the world each year.


Footballers must be under the age of 21 and participate in a top-tier European league, such as the Premier League, La Liga, or even the Dutch Eredivisie, to be eligible for the Golden Boy award.


What is the Golden Boy Award’s eligibility?

The award’s two most significant conditions are that all nominees be under the age of 21 and play in European top-tier leagues. This award has also been given to a number of well-known players, including Wayne Rooney and Lionel Messi.


The Golden Boy award, like the Ballon d’Or, follows a similar set of regulations and is decided by a voting panel comprised of journalists from a variety of renowned sports publications. The Times (United Kingdom), France Football (which also awards the Ballon d’Or), Bild (Germany), and Marca (Spain) are among the most well-known participants (Spain).


A player is usually only eligible for the honour once in their career.


2021 Golden Boy Nominees

Tuttosport, the award’s creator, limited the list of nominees from 100 to 20 players from ten nations on October 15, 2021.


Top 5 Nominees 

  1. Pedri (Barcelona)
  2. Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund)
  3. Jamal Musiala (Bayern Munich)
  4. Florian Wirtz (Bayer Levekusen)
  5. Gavi (Barcelona)


Other 15 Nominees 

  1. Gio Reyna (Borussia Dortmund)
  2. Karim Adeyemi (RB Salzburg)
  3. Eduardo Camavinga (Real Madrid)
  4. Charles de Ketelaere (Club Brugge)
  5. Bryan Gil (Tottenham)
  6. Ryan Gravenberch (Ajax)
  7. Mason Greenwood (Manchester United)
  8. Daniel Maldini (AC Milan)
  9. Nuno Mendes (PSG)
  10. Roberto Piccoli (Atalanta)
  11. Yeremi Pino (Villarreal)
  12. Rodrygo (Real Madrid)
  13. Bukayo Saka (Arsenal)
  14. William Saliba (Arsenal)
  15. Jurrien Timber (Ajax)


Who are the front runners?

I had trials with Real Madrid but they told me I wasn’t at their level saidPedri, a Barcelona midfielder, who is largely regarded as the favourite to win the Golden Boy award. The 18-year-old got into the Barcelona club and rapidly established himself as a regular starter. He also earned the Euro 2020 Young Player of the Tournament as well as an Olympic Gold medal with Spain.


If Pedri wins, he would become the third Spanish player to do so, following Cesc Fabregas (2006) and Isco Alcaron (2007). (2012).

🏅 Where are the 10 most recent Golden Boy winners? | Futaa.com Zimbabwe

Mason Greenwood of Manchester United, Eduardo Camavinga of Real Madrid, Jude Bellingham of Borussia Dortmund, Ryan Gravenberch of Ajax, and Bukayo Saka of Arsenal are all in the running.


How is the award chosen?

Every panel of respected media site sportswriters, for example, votes on their favourite nominees. The voters choose five players based on a point system in which the winner receives 10 points, the runner-up receives 7 points, the third receives 5 points, the fourth receives 3 points, and the fifth receives 1 point.


Aside from the founders, Tuttosport, the following publications are represented:

  • L’Équipe (France).
  • Marca (Spain).
  • Bild (Germany).
  • A Bola (Portugal).
  • The Times (United Kingdom).
  • Telegraaf (Netherlands).
  • France Football (France).
  • Blick (Switzerland).


Tuttosport allows fans to vote for their favourite in an online poll on its website. While it has no direct impact on the ultimate outcome, it can affect the judges’ decision to declare a winner. Over 11796 fans have voted as of the time of writing.


Who took home the Golden Boy in 2020?

Erling Braut Haaland of Borussia Dortmund and Norway was awarded the 2020 Golden Boy award at the age of 20. The highly-rated youngster, who completed a €20 million move to Borussia Dortmund from RB Salzburg last month, went for a football trial at Hoffenheim for a week trial in 2016.


Additionally, Barcelona forward Ansu Fati finished second, with Bayern Munich full-back Alphonso Davies finishing 3rd for the golden boy race.